Are we there yet? Are we there yet?

Guess what guys: I’ll start working next Monday.

Or as I usually put it, I’m going to become a real person next Monday.

You know me (well, maybe not, but I know you want to :-)), I’m pretty calm and cool about things, and this is no different. Yet I’m really curious about everything that is about to change. Or is it really?

I guess the only major difference is the fact that I’ll have a monthly pay-check. I will stay in Porto at least this semester – I will only move out again, either some place else in Portugal or in the World, when I can fully support it myself. Financially, that is. Other than that, there will be a few changes in terms of organisation perspective, responsibility, and my daily routine.

Before I hop on I’ll just mention that it is still an internship I’m doing to finish my degree. I’ll be doing my best in order to have a shot at staying in the same company afterwards, for reasons I’ll explain in a second. The company I’ll be working for, Critical Software, creates highly dependable technologies. I’ll be working on tools that help making sure that… well, that everything goes right during the development of such technologies :-) I am so glad I have people other than engineers reading this, and still I almost forget to adapt my writing accordingly ;-)

Now why did I choose this place? Well, the company has been growing impressively, expanding to new markets every time they sense an opportunity. They have seized opportunities very well so far – they seem to know exactly what they are doing. They are especially concerned with quality in everything they do. They have high-profile clients all over the globe, and have contracts in a sector, among others, that I nurture a particular interest in: the aerospace industry. There seems to be something happening all the time. And that’s it

… I want to be immersed in a dynamic environment. I want challenges, I want to beat them and to be beaten sometimes. I want to learn as much as I can.

I don’t want to sit down and get well paid for doing the same thing over and over. Well not yet, at least, and not for a long while, I believe.

I’m young ;-)

Right now is the perfect time to go crazy. So to speak. I won’t want a vibrant job full of risk and travel when I’m trying to raise kids. Neither do I want a stagnant job while I still have yet to do a lot of things I want to do and have more than 90% of the world to see.

So yeah, hold me back, hehe :-)

An old thought came to mind when I visited the Ferreira Port wine cellars yet again, earlier this week while my French friends Aldric and Lise were visiting Porto. One of the previous times I’d been there, years ago, I thought it would be a good idea to spend some of my first pay-check on two or three bottles of a Vintage Port. No, no, not for the first-pay-party, I wasn’t even much of a drinker back then. The idea was to let them age until certain very special occasions occur. I don’t know if it’s any sort of hypnotic induction by the tour guides, but I still think it is a very good idea.

The problem is… how many bottles? ;-)

4 Responses to “Are we there yet? Are we there yet?”

  1. João Vale Says:

    Well, at least for someone from our course, the company’s description pretty much tells everything -but- the name. ;p

    For what is worth (if it’s the one I think it is), you made a good choice. It’ll be a place where you’ll be able to do all that stuff -and- travel a bit if you want (duh :p) and the opportunity arises.

    Good luck!

  2. So, how’re the first days feeling like? How are you adapting to the work environment? How cool is the guy on your left?

  3. Heheh, I only notice how tired I am when I get home after work – with me, that’s always a great sign! Oh, and the guy to my left is pretty cool too, at least until he starts leaving pointy stuff on my chair… that will piss me off ;-)

    Edit: Company name revealed!

  4. Dude you’re working!!!:)
    How are you coping with this new working class’ challenge? Well’ let me put it this way: how many paper aeroplanes have you made so far? (more than three: change job) :>
    By the way, as far as I am concerned, if I were you I would buy 1 bottle of Porto and open it when it speaks to you!:)

    Zorion, good luck!

    PS: May the Dancing Queen be with you!

Leave a Reply

